10 Double Dragon Games, Ranked

I know I can’t have been the only one excited recently to see a new retro-styled Double Dragon game coming out, and so soon after its reveal. Not just because I would get a new beat ‘em up to fight through, but because the news offered me the perfect opportunity to replay all of the games. I’ve also been re-watching some of the cartoon, one of my favorites when I was a kid, and while I could go read the comics that Marvel produced for the franchise again, or (if I really get desperate for more Double Dragon) there is that movie we don’t speak of, but those are all just icing on the cake to the games. In this post-apocalyptic world Billy and Jimmy Lee battle against the Black Warrior gang in a series inspired by Mad Max and martial arts films. Certain installments can be a bit frustrating, but I always find myself coming back and trying again, pushing forward to save Marian and bring some justice where I can. Now, since the new release has a few people talking, I want to see if I can encourage some new players to try their hand at being the heroes.

So here is a fun list of most of the console and handheld system games and where I think they rank for the player who wants to experience the series before a new installment arrives. Most of these are ports from the original arcade games, which can be found on Steam as a collection.

Continue reading this article…

dd-dd1-cover

About stephenwilds

Writing in the dirty South, this recovering internet addict wakes up every morning wrestling with nightmares of Silent Hill, Battletoads, and where to put that third comma.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

